CLICK HERE for IMPORTANT INFORMATION pertaining to VIRTUAL HEARINGS
Denver County Court

Types of Charges

There are four different types of criminal cases: municipal ordinance violations, petty offenses, misdemeanors, and felonies.

To view case information online if you have your case number, you can do a Search by Case Number.  If you do not have your case number, you can do a Court Date Search to find all cases with upcoming court dates and the corresponding case numbers.

MUNICIPAL ORDINANCE VIOLATIONS

Municipal Ordinances are city laws found in the Denver Revised Municipal Code (D.R.M.C.) and include violations of defacing property, assault, disorderly conduct, open container, and being in the park after hours. The maximum punishment is a fine up to $999 and/or 1 year in the county jail.

INFRACTIONS

Infractions in the Criminal Division relate ONLY to very specific (not all) charges involving use and possession of marijuana under the Denver Revised Municipal Code (D.R.M.C.). Infractions can be paid without making a court appearance. If a defendant pleads guilty to, or is found guilty of a traffic infraction they cannot be sentenced to jail time. If you would like information on TRAFFIC INFRACTIONS, click [HERE].

PETTY OFFENSES

Petty Offenses are violations of the Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.). Examples of Petty Offenses are third degree criminal trespass and littering of public or private property. The maximum penalty for a Class 1 Petty Offense is a fine up to $500 and/or six months in jail. The penalty for a Class 2 Petty Offense is outlined in each statute, but the penalty is usually less than a Class 1 Petty Offense.

MISDEMEANORS

Misdemeanors are violations of the Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.) and there are three classes of misdemeanors. A few examples of each are:

Class 1: These are the most serious misdemeanors and include 2nd degree forgery; 3rd degree assault; indecent exposure; and careless driving resulting in injury or death. The maximum penalty for Class 1 misdemeanors is 18 months in jail and/or a fine up to $5,000.

Class 2: These include obstructing a police officer; theft less than $500; resisting arrest; and criminal mischief with less than $500 damage. The maximum penalty for Class 2 misdemeanors is 12 months in jail and/or a fine up to $3,000.

Class 3: These include criminal mischief less than $100 in damage and public fighting. The maximum penalty for Class 3 misdemeanors is 6 months in jail and/or a fine up to $750.

FELONIES

A felony is the most serious kind of crime and includes robbery, murder, rape, or possession of illegal drugs for sale. County Court does the first and second advisement and preliminary hearing on felony cases. If the Judge decides there is sufficient evidence to prove the defendant more likely than not committed the crime, the case is bound over to Denver District Court. For more information on felony cases go to www.courts.state.co.us.