COVID-19: Please see IMPORTANT information for Denver County Court operations HERE
Follow Denver County Court on Facebook & Twitter for additional updates related to COVID-19
VIRTUAL COURT: Denver County Court is holding ALL
*(Jury Trials are suspended through 12/31/2020)

appearances by video or phone CLICK HERE for more information.
Missed Your Court Date? Contact Us
Denver County Court

Expunging a Juvenile Record

EXPUNGING JUVENILE RECORDS

Effective November 1, 2017, under the Colorado Children’s Code, a person is entitled to have their juvenile record expunged from public access if:

    1. You were found not guilty at trial, if your case was dismissed, or you successfully completed a juvenile diversion program or a deferred sentence; or
    2. You plead guilty or were found guilty and you completed your sentence to include payment of all fines, fees, and restitution.

Your case is not eligible for expungement if:

    1. Your case is a traffic case.
    2. If you have a felony, drug felony, misdemeanor, drug misdemeanor, petty offense, or delinquency action pending.

The Court will send notice to the prosecutor’s office that in 42 days after completion of your sentence or upon dismissal or acquittal your case will be expunged. If the prosecutor does not object your case will be expunged. If the prosecutor objects, a hearing will be held and the judge will decide.

The Court will send to the Order of Expungement to you, the police department, Colorado Bureau of Investigation, and prosecutor’s office. If you wish to have the Order of Expungement sent to other agencies you must provide a list to the Court within seven (7) days of receiving the Order. After seven (7) days have passed, it is your responsibility to notify any other entity who may have possession of records related to your case.

Approximately 35 days after the agencies have received a copy of the Court’s Order, the juvenile record will be expunged by the agencies.

Upon entry of an Expungement Order for your case, you may lawfully deny that you have ever been arrested, charged, adjudicated, convicted, or sentenced in regards to the expunged case.

For more information see C.R.S. 19-1-306(9)

For juvenile convictions or dismissals in Denver County Court prior to November 1, 2017, you must file your Petition with the Denver County Court located at 520 W. Colfax Avenue, Room 160. One Petition must be filed for every case you wish to have sealed.

  

A Petition can be filed to expunge a record only once during any 12-month period.

You are eligible to Petition for an Order expunging your Denver County record if:

    1. You were found not guilty at trial, if your case was dismissed, or you successfully completed a juvenile diversion program or a deferred sentence; or
    2. You plead guilty or were found guilty and you completed your sentence to include payment of all fines, fees, and restitution.

Provisions for more serious cases are listed in the Colorado Revised Statute 19-1-306, C.R.S.

If a juvenile case is ordered expunged, basic information identifying the juvenile will be available to a prosecuting attorney, local law enforcement agency, and the department of human services. The entire juvenile record will be available to any judge or probation department for use in any future juvenile or adult sentencing hearing. However, if inquiries are made by the public, the court will reply that “no record exists with respect to such person.”

Records ordered expunged may only be inspected by criminal justice agencies by Order of the Court, after a hearing and for good reason. A notice of hearing shall be given to all interested parties at least five days before the hearing.

Provisions for more serious cases are listed in the Colorado Revised Statute 19-1-306, C.R.S.